Nation of Blue

Basketball

Southeastern Conference Releases Statement on Isaac Humphries Technical Foul

The Southeastern Conference has reviewed the late technical foul that was called on Kentucky’s Issac Humphries in last night’s game at Texas A&M.

The Louisville Courier-Journal obtained this statement from league spokesman Craig Pinkerton:



SEC spokesman Craig Pinkerton provided the following statement in response to The Courier-Journal’s request for clarification on the call: “The official determined the Kentucky player committed an unsportsmanlike act in violation of Rule 10, Section 3, a Class A Unsporting Technical Infraction, resulting in the awarding of two free throws to Texas A&M.”

Official Pat Adams called a technical on Humphries for spiking the basketball during a celebration with teammates, however there is no specific language about such a move in the rule cited. Among the 11 offenses listed in Rule 10, Section 3, only two could even conceivably be applied to what Humphries did:

* “Disrespectfully addressing an official or gesturing in such a manner as to indicate resentment.”

* “Using profanity or vulgarity; taunting, baiting or ridiculing another player or bench personnel; or pointing a finger at or making obscene gestures toward another player or bench personnel.”

Neither of those, however, seem to fit what Humphries did.

Complete Article

To Top