The Southeastern Conference has reviewed the late technical foul that was called on Kentucky’s Issac Humphries in last night’s game at Texas A&M.
The Louisville Courier-Journal obtained this statement from league spokesman Craig Pinkerton:
SEC spokesman Craig Pinkerton provided the following statement in response to The Courier-Journal’s request for clarification on the call: “The official determined the Kentucky player committed an unsportsmanlike act in violation of Rule 10, Section 3, a Class A Unsporting Technical Infraction, resulting in the awarding of two free throws to Texas A&M.”
Official Pat Adams called a technical on Humphries for spiking the basketball during a celebration with teammates, however there is no specific language about such a move in the rule cited. Among the 11 offenses listed in Rule 10, Section 3, only two could even conceivably be applied to what Humphries did:
* “Disrespectfully addressing an official or gesturing in such a manner as to indicate resentment.”
* “Using profanity or vulgarity; taunting, baiting or ridiculing another player or bench personnel; or pointing a finger at or making obscene gestures toward another player or bench personnel.”
Neither of those, however, seem to fit what Humphries did.
