Basketball

That Looked Like a Bad Call Against Kentucky

bam goaltend

That sure didn’t look like offensive basket interference to us.

What do you think BBN?



1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Frank

    Mar 27, 2017 at 5:57 pm

    In basketball, basket interference is the violation of (a) touching the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on the rim of the basket, (b) touching the ball when it is within the cylinder extending upwards from the rim, (c) reaching up through the basket from below and touching the ball, whether it is inside or outside the cylinder, or (d) pulling down on the rim of the basket so that it contacts the ball before returning to its original position.[1][2] How the ball gets into the cylinder or onto the basket is irrelevant under high school and NCAA rules; e.g., a throw-in touched within the cylinder is basket interference, even though such a play could not score a goal.[3] This similar play under NBA rules would not be basket interference.[4]

    There is one exception to the above: if a player dunks the ball, (s)he may maintain contact with the ball into the cylinder or grab the rim (momentarily) without penalty.[5][6]

    When a basket interference violation is called against the defending team, the shooting team is awarded the points for the field goal as if it had been made.[7][8] When a basket interference violation is called against the shooting team, no points are scored and the ball is given to the defending team.[7][9]

    Basket interference and goaltending are the only violations in basketball for which points are automatically awarded.[10]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top